As the COVID-19 Omicron variant spreads quickly, the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) lowered the thresholds that define “Mega Events” effective January 15, 2022.
“Outdoor Mega Events” will occur with 5,000 or more attendees, reduced from 10,000, and “Indoor Mega Events” will occur with 500 attendees, reduced from 1,000. All persons over 18 years of age attending Mega Events are required to provide identification and either proof of being fully vaccinated or a negative COVID test prior to entering any such event. Antigen testing must occur within 24 hours or PCR tests within two days prior to the Mega Event.
Updated 2022 Isolation and Quarantine Guidelines in California
While California employers must continue to consider the Cal/OSHA COVID-19 Prevention Emergency Temporary Standards, the CDPH updated its isolation and quarantine guidance to align closely to the recently updated Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) guidance.
CDPH recognizes the new five-day protocols, however, for individuals who test COVID+, regardless of vaccination status, they must stay home for at least five days with isolation ending after day five, if symptoms are not present or resolving and if an antigen test collected on day five or later is negative. Otherwise, if the person does not test and symptoms resolve, isolation may end after Day 10. COVID+ persons also should wear a well-fitting mask around other people for 10 days.
Updated California COVID Guidelines for People Without a Booster
Unvaccinated and vaccinated people who are eligible for a booster but have not received a booster who were exposed to COVID-19, even without COVID-19 symptoms, should stay home for at least five days. Quarantine will end after a negative antigen test on day five and no COVID-19 symptoms. Such persons should wear a well-fitting mask around other people for 10 days.
Vaccinated individuals who received a booster, or are not eligible for a booster, and were exposed to COVID-19 do not have to stay home but should test on day five, as well. In addition, those individuals should wear a well-fitting mask around other people for 10 days.
Contact Sherman Law Corporation today
Should you have additional questions about making sure your business is compliant, please do not hesitate to contact Lisa Sherman at (323) 488-2087 or email her at Lisa@sherm-law.com.